
Netflix has started testing a new feature that aims to curb subscribers sharing their accounts with people outside of their home. As first reported by GammaWire, a small number of users have started receiving warnings that state "if you don't live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching".
These users have still been given the opportunity to verify the account, which is done via a code sent through text or email to the account owner. If a user is unable to verify the account within a certain time, they will no longer be able to keep streaming.
While you could always get your friend or family member to send through the text, Netflix is clearly hoping that's too much hassle. Locally, Netflix subscriptions start at $10.99 per month for an entry-level plan.
Netflix's terms and conditions says accounts may not be shared with "individuals beyond your household", but co-CEO Reed Hastings has previously said that "password sharing is something you have to learn to live with" given the legitimate use cases.
Of course, a shared account potentially represents missed revenue for Netflix, which now faces increased competition. While the streaming giant was once the major player in the industry, it is now going up against behemoths like Disney+ and Amazon Prime Video in addition to local services like Stan and Binge. Despite this, Netflix saw strong growth in 2020, surpassing 200 million subscribers by the end of the year.
The feature does however double as a security measure, and should help prevent fraudulent access to Netflix accounts if rolled out on a wider scale.
At this stage, it is unclear whether Netflix will turn this test into a permanent feature, or what kind of time frame it may take to do so.
Alex Choros
Related Articles
Find a Better Pay TV Package
Compare options from Foxtel, Fetch TV, Netflix, Stan and more.